About the University of Illinois System

The University of Illinois system is comprised of three distinct universities and the UI Health system, all of which are supported by central administrative offices. The system and its universities have regional campuses, research facilities, clinics, and Extension offices throughout the state.

The governing and authoritative body of the University system is the Board of Trustees, which is comprised of ten members appointed by the governor, as well as three student members elected by each campus. The president reports to the board and leads the administrative offices that provide centralized services vital to supporting the University’s primary missions. He works with system vice presidents as well as each campus chancellor, who is also a vice president.

The University has carried on its land-grant mission for nearly 150 years, making a lasting impact in academic excellence, discovery and innovation, public service, economic development, and health care throughout Illinois and beyond the state borders. We attract the nation's most talented students with hundreds of undergraduate, graduate and professional programs, many of them ranked among the best in the United States. We are the state's largest institution of higher education, with more than 80,000 students.

Play the University Pride video below, or watch on Youtube, or read the text of the video (.txt file).