President's Medallion

President's Medallion

The Presidential Award and Medallion is given to recognize individuals who support and bring distinction to the University of Illinois System in profound ways. Separate from any other institutional recognition, this award is bestowed solely at the discretion of the president. The award was initiated by President Stanley O. Ikenberry.

Shahid Khan, 2013

An entrepreneur and distinguished alumnus whose work and achievements are an example of excellence and the power of education.

Myrlie Evers, 2013

A civil rights leader who spent three decades seeking justice for her husband’s assassin and a lifetime promoting racial equality, recognized for her vision, courage, and perseverance.

William Daley, 2011

A native of Illinois, chief of staff to President Barack Obama, and former US Secretary of Commerce, recognized for his devotion to public service.

Orion Samuelson, 2010

Long-time radio announcer specializing in agriculture and farming and long-time supporter of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences on the Urbana campus.

Stanley O. Ikenberry, 2008

President Emeritus, University of Illinois.

Tuskegee Airmen, 2007

America's first black military airmen during World War II. Those honored include: Harvey R. Alexander, Roy M. Chappell, Ellsworth Dansby, Clifford Davis, Beverly L. Dunjill, Julius Jackson, William Johnson, Hilton M. Joseph, William C. Loving, John H. Lyle, Robert L. Martin, Charles E. McGee, LaVerne Shelton, George Sherman, Quentin P. Smith, Welton I. Taylor, George A. Taylor, William H. Walker, Shelby Westbrook and O. Lawton Wilkerson.

Thomas M. Siebel, 2001

Founder, chairman and CEO of Siebel Systems, Inc., and a major donor to the Urbana campus, where he earned three degrees.

Arthur C. Clarke, 1997

Author who named Urbana as the birthplace of HAL 9000, the on-board computer in the novel and film, "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Yien-Si Tsiang, 1995

Senior adviser and secretary-general to Taiwan's head of state.

Monsignor Edward I. Duncan, 1994

Assigned to St. John's Catholic Chapel and the Newman Foundation at the University of Illinois.

Fidel V. Ramos, 1993

Alumnus and president of the Republic of the Philippines.

Walter Robb, 1993

Vice president of General Electric.

James B. "Scotty" Reston, 1992

Alumnus and veteran New York Times journalist and author.

Masaru Ibuka, 1991

Founder and honorary chairman of Sony Corporation.

Frederick Seitz, 1990

Former head of University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign physics department and president of Rockefeller University.

David W. Grainger, 1989

Friend of the University and generous donor of a professorship, graduate fellowships and labs, later of the Grainger Engineering Library Information Center.

Charles I. Young, 1984

Chairman of the capital campaign for the Lions of Illinois Eye Research Institute at the University of Illinois Chicago.