Our Universities

The University of Illinois System has three distinct universities that make specific and different contributions to the System's overarching missions.  The universities are strengthened by collaboration efforts and by System-wide services, yet carry out their academic functions with a high degree of delegated authority and autonomy.  Each is led by a chancellor who reports to the president.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Established in 1867, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, one of the nation's great research universities, is known for its distinguished faculty, its outstanding resources and the breadth of its academic programs. The institution is deeply committed to educating its large, diverse student body and to engaging critical societal and scientific issues.

Learn more >>

University of Illinois at Chicago

The University of Illinois at Chicago, which opened its doors in 1946, is a major research university located in the heart of one of the world's great cities. UIC provides a first-rate education for its students, creates and disseminates new knowledge, and is vital part of the educational, technological, and cultural fabric of the region.

Learn more >>

University of Illinois at Springfield

The University of Illinois at Springfield is a small, liberal arts university in the state capital. Known for its focus on teaching, excellent faculty and a proven record in business education, UIS is also a national leader in online education. UIS emphasizes public affairs in its academic and community service pursuits. UIS joined the University family in 1995.

Learn more >>

U of I Online

A one-stop website to learn about programs and courses online from the three universities, U of I Online helps you meet your educational goals by taking courses and receiving degrees that are mostly or completely online.

Learn more >>

Regional Campuses

The U of I has several regional campuses and satellite programs across the state.

Learn more >>