IT Governance Overview

The University of Illinois information technology (IT) governance structures focus on these primary areas:

  • design and implement a system of input and strategic decision-making
  • determine what decisions the governance structures make
  • create processes for investment and prioritization
  • ensure collaborative design of services and infrastructure
  • provide a mechanism for communication, reporting, and performance measurement

University IT Governance

The University of Illinois Information Technology Leadership Team (UI IT LT) is comprised of the campus- and university administration- level CIOs at the university. This group articulates the Information Technology strategic direction for the University of Illinois, serves as a conduit for identifying areas where enterprise-wide policies and standards should be developed, and fosters the development of these standards.

The Information Technology Priorities Committee (ITPC) is the primary body that is responsible for evaluating administrative information technology initiatives from project inception through the end of a project's lifecycle.

The University Administration Information Technology Council (UA IT Council) fosters collaboration and cooperation throughout UA and leverages UA IT services to better serve both UA and the University campuses. The UA IT Council assists in identifying shared priorities for IT within UA and seeks opportunities for cost savings or avoidance. The UA IT Council provides governance to recommend UA IT policy, creates common UA IT procedures, and provides input to University committees, such as the University IT Leadership Team (UI IT LT).

Campus IT Governance

University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign (UIUC)

IT Governance Committee
IT Council

University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC)

IT Governance Council

University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS)

Academic Technology Committee
Dean's Council
ITS Management Team

IT Governance Advisory Relationships

The following groups serve as advisory roles to the various IT Governance structures:

Academic Senates

UIUC  |  UIC  |  UIS

Student Senates

UIUC  |  UIC  |  UIS

Provost Committees

UIUC  |  UIC  |  UIS