University of Illinois Administration 

The University of Illinois – the state’s most comprehensive public university – is composed of three campuses: Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield with regional medical campuses in Peoria and Rockford. Extension offices, research parks, and the U of I hospital expand the reach of the university.

Overseeing the 77,000-student institution is the Board of Trustees and the U of I president. Along with the chancellor/vice president of each of the campuses, the board and president keep the University competitive, growing and fully committed to its core missions of education, research, public service, and economic development.

Also crucial to the effective administration of the University are the vice presidents for academic affairs, finance, health affairs, and research, as well as the offices of University Counsel, Governmental Relations, and University Relations.

The units within University Administration provide vital services and support – such as business and financial services, IT, facilities planning, auditing, legal counsel – to the campuses and their students, faculty, and staff.

Together the campuses and administration operate as a team with an overarching objective: to make the University of Illinois "best in class" in research, education, public service and its other core missions.