Office for University Relations

Excellence and Leadership in Online Learning

University of Illinois at Springfield excels at offering high-quality online classes.

Online learning gives individuals with busy schedules or those who do not live within driving distance of a university an opportunity to pursue higher education.  Despite the popularity of online courses, not all institutions foster learning exchanges that go beyond posting materials online.  

UIS has been recognized by the Sloan Consortium, a national group of online educators, with two awards for online excellence and leadership in 2010. UIS earned other Sloan awards in 2002, 2003 and 2006. No other university in the nation has received more outstanding achievement awards from the consortium.

In 2010, UIS’ online Master of Arts in Teacher Leadership (MTL) program received the Sloan Consortium’s Outstanding Online Program Award. MTL offers coursework entirely online and hundreds of teachers in Illinois, 26 other states and five foreign countries have earned masters since the program began in 2001.

Ray Schroeder, director of the Center for Online Learning, Research and Service (COLRS) earned the consortium’s inaugural A. Frank Mayadas Leadership Award.  It is the highest individual honor offered by the Sloan Consortium.

The department of educational leadership, a unit of the UIS College of Education and Human Services, prepares highly qualified administrators capable of guiding schools to meet state and national standards and implement reform initiatives. UIS’ Center for Online Learning Research and Service (COLRS) is a hub for the study and application of online learning technology and best practices.

UIS pairs academic excellence with small class size, high-quality programs and internships in public affairs, journalism and government for a unique educational experience. Making a difference in the world is a tenet of the UIS educational philosophy.

Learn More

Center for Online Learning Research and Service
Master of Arts in Teaching Leadership
College of Education and Human Services
University of Illinois at Springfield